Skip to main content

Dr. Beth Kurtz-Costes, a Zachary Taylor Smith Distinguished Term Professor of Developmental Psychology, is a recipient of the 2019 University Teaching Award – the William C. Friday/Class of 1986 Award for Excellence in Teaching.

The William C. Friday/Class of 1986 Award was created by members of the 1986 graduating class to recognize members of the faculty who have exemplified excellence in inspirational teaching and is named in honor of William C. Friday, who devoted a lifetime of service to the University as President of the UNC system.

Dr. Kurtz-Costes, along with 23 other faculty members and graduate students, has been named winners of Carolina’s 2019 University Teaching Awards. The University Committee on Teaching Awards, which oversees the selection process, encouraged students to nominate deserving faculty and graduate teaching assistants for the awards. The committee specifically sought nominations with a commitment to care of our students, outstanding mentorship, and effective use of classroom methods. The winner of the William C. Friday Award for Excellence receives a one-time stipend of $5,000 and a framed citation. Dr. Kurtz-Costes will also be recognized at half-time of the UNC-Syracuse men’s basketball game on February 26, 2019 and will be honored at an awards banquet on April 8, 2019. Congratulations to Dr. Kurtz-Costes on this well-deserved honor!

Read more about this year’s teaching award winners!

Comments are closed.