Skip to main content

Endowed professorships at Carolina are one of the highest honors bestowed upon a faculty member and a professorship recognizes a faculty member as an accomplished scholar and educator. Endowed professorships honor exceptional achievement through an honorary title and additional research and salary funds.

The University has a substantial number of named endowed professorships, which includes professorships established by donors and supplemented with funds from the Distinguished Professors Endowment Trust Fund, which was established by the NC General Assembly in 1985 to provide grants for endowed professorships. These professorships, established by philanthropic gifts, exist in perpetuity and many are named in honor of renowned retired faculty at Carolina.

Dr. Peter Ornstein, a F. Stuart Chapin Distinguished Professor, Emeritus, of Developmental Psychology and a member of our faculty since 1973, was recently honored by the College of Arts and Sciences and Dean Kevin Guskiewicz with an endowed professorship in his name. The first faculty member at Carolina awarded with the Peter A. Ornstein Distinguished Professorship is Dr. Mark Schoenfisch, a professor in the Department of Chemistry. Congratulations to Dr. Ornstein for this honor and to Dr. Schoenfisch for his appointment as a Peter A. Ornstein Distinguished Professor!

Comments are closed.