Core Faculty


Burchinal, Margaret
Associated Faculty | Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
266 Sheryl-Mar South
(919) 966-5059
burchinal@unc.edu

Dr. Burchinal studies growth curve methodology and the short- and long-term impacts of early care and education, especially for children at-risk due to poverty. Visit her online: Margaret R. Burchinal, Ph.D. and Family Life Project.

Dr. Burchinal will not be recruiting a student to start Fall 2018.


Cheatham, Carol
Associate Professor
216 Davie Hall
(919) 843-5020 | (704) 250-5010
carol_cheatham@unc.edu

Dr. Cheatham studies the individual differences in cognitive development and its social behavior as they relate to nutrition and nutrigenomics, utilizing both electrophysiological and behavioral methodology. Visit her online: Cheatham Nutrition and Cognition Laboratory.

Dr. Cheatham will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2018.


Cooper, Shauna
Associate Professor
214 Davie Hall
(919) 962-7468
shauna_cooper@unc.edu

Dr. Cooper studies the cultural and contextual factors that contribute to positive youth development, with a specific focus on African American adolescents and families. Visit her online: African American Youth Development Research Laboratory.

Dr. Cooper will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2018.


Cox, Martha
Professor
215 Davie Hall
(919) 966-3509
martha_cox@unc.edu

Dr. Cox studies family processes, children’s social and emotional development, lifespan research, and early environments and linkages such as family, daycare, and school. Visit her online: Durham Child Health and Developmental Study and Family Life Project.

Dr. Cox will not be recruiting a student to start Fall 2018.


Gardner-Neblett, Nicole
Associated Faculty | Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
321 Bypass Building
(919) 966-5589
nicole.gardner-neblett@unc.edu

Dr. Gardner-Neblett studies language and literacy development in early childhood; professional development of early childhood educators; oral narrative skills of African-American children; and young children’s self-regulation. Visit her online: Nicole Gardner-Neblett, Ph.D.

Dr. Gardner-Neblett will not be recruiting a student to start Fall 2018.


Gariepy, Jean-Louis
Associate Professor
227 Davie Hall
(919) 962-2392
lgariepy@email.unc.edu

Dr. Gariepy studies the development and evolution of social behavior and the biological and behavioral aspects of social adaption.

Dr. Gariepy will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2018.


Kurtz-Costes, Beth
Zachary Taylor Smith Distinguished Term Professor | Developmental Psychology Program Director
221 Davie Hall
(919) 962-4137
bkcostes@email.unc.edu

Dr. Kurtz-Costes studies the development of adolescents’ academic motivation with particular attention to race/ethnicity and gender as social identities that shape youth’s experiences, goals, and achievement behaviors. Visit her online: Beth, Kurtz-Costes, Ph.D.

Dr. Kurtz-Costes will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2018.


Ornstein, Peter
Chapin Distinguished Professor
222 Davie Hall
(919) 962-4138
pao@unc.edu

Dr. Ornstein studies cognitive development, focusing especially on factors that influence the development of children’s memory. Visit him online: Peter Ornstein, Ph.D.

Dr. Ornstein will not be recruiting a student to start Fall 2018.


Propper, Cathi
Adjunct Associate Professor | Center for Developmental Science
100 East Franklin Street
(919) 843-2400
propper@email.unc.edu

Dr. Propper’s research focuses on the development of infant and child self-regulation. She investigates child behavioral, emotional, and cognitive outcomes as the result of associations across levels (behavioral, physiological, genetic, environmental) and over time, from the prenatal period to early childhood.

Dr. Propper will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2018.


Telzer, Eva
Assistant Professor
218 Davie Hall
(919) 962-6758
ehtelzer@unc.edu

Dr. Telzer’s research examines how social and cultural processes shape adolescent brain development, with a focus on both prosocial and antisocial behaviors, family and peer relationships, and long-term psychological well-being. Visit her online: Developmental Social Neuroscience Lab.

Dr. Telzer will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2018.


Adjunct Faculty


Adjunct Faculty have official appointments with the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience and assist the Department by collaborating with faculty, mentoring doctoral students, or teaching undergraduates.


Adams Liz
Adjunct Assistant Professor | University of North Carolina
229 Davie Hall
adamsliz@live.unc..edu


Asher, Steven
Adjunct Professor | Duke University
240 Soc-Psych B
(919) 660-5773
asher@duke.edu


Baker-Ward, Lynne
Adjunct Professor | North Carolina State University
640 Poe Hall
(919) 515-1731
lbward@ncsu.edu


Coffman, Jennifer
Adjunct Associate Professor | University of North Carolina Greensboro
Human Development and Family Studies
(336) 334-5307
jlcoffma@uncg.edu


Garrett-Peters, Patricia
Adjunct Assistant Professor | Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
127 Sheryl-Mar North
(919) 843-9811
patricia.garrett-peters@unc.edu


Goldman, Barbara
Adjunct Professor | Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
330 Bypass Building
(919) 966-7169
barbara_goldman@unc.edu


Piven, Joseph
Adjunct Professor | Department of Psychiatry
4123 Bioinformatics Building
(919) 843-8641
jpiven@med.unc.edu


Pungello, Elizabeth
Adjunct Associate Professor | The Brady Education Foundation
100 Europa Drive
(919) 240-4941
liz_pungello@unc.edu


Willoughby, Michael
Adjunct Professor | RTI International
(919) 541-6622
willoughby@unc.edu