Core Faculty


Burchinal, Margaret
Associated Faculty | Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
266 Sheryl-Mar South
(919) 966-5059
burchinal@unc.edu

Dr. Burchinal studies growth curve methodology and the short- and long-term impacts of early care and education, especially for children at-risk due to poverty. Visit her online: Margaret R. Burchinal, Ph.D. and Family Life Project.

Dr. Burchinal will not be recruiting a student to start Fall 2017.


Cheatham, Carol
Associate Professor
216 Davie Hall
(919) 843-5020 | (704) 250-5010
carol_cheatham@unc.edu

Dr. Cheatham studies the individual differences in cognitive and social behavior as they relate to nutrition and nutrigenomics, utilizing both electrophysiological and behavioral methodology. Visit her online: Cheatham Nutrition and Cognition Laboratory.

Dr. Cheatham will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2017.


Cooper, Shauna
Associate Professor starting July 1, 2017
shauna_cooper@unc.edu


Dr. Cooper studies the cultural and contextual factors that contribute to positive youth development, with a specific focus on African American adolescents and families. Visit her online: African American Youth Development Research Laboratory.

Dr. Cooper will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2017.


Cox, Martha
Professor | Director of Research Services
215 Davie Hall
(919) 966-3509
martha_cox@unc.edu

Dr. Cox studies family processes, children’s social and emotional development, lifespan research, and early environments and linkages such as family, daycare, and school. Visit her online: Durham Child Health and Developmental Study and Family Life Project.

Dr. Cox will not be recruiting a student to start Fall 2017.


Gardner-Neblett, Nicole
Associated Faculty | Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
321 Bypass Building
(919) 966-5589
nicole.gardner-neblett@unc.edu

Dr. Gardner-Neblett studies language and literacy development in early childhood; professional development of early childhood educators; oral narrative skills of African-American children; and young children’s self-regulation. Visit her online: Nicole Gardner-Neblett, Ph.D.

As a secondary mentor, Dr. Gardner-Neblett will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2017 who will be supervised jointly with a faculty colleague.


Gariepy, Jean-Louis
Associate Professor
227 Davie Hall
(919) 962-2392
lgariepy@email.unc.edu

Dr. Gariepy studies the development and evolution of social behavior and the biological and behavioral aspects of social adaption.

Dr. Gariepy will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2017.


Kurtz-Costes, Beth
Professor | Director of Undergraduate Studies
221 Davie Hall
(919) 962-4137
bkcostes@email.unc.edu

Dr. Kurtz-Costes studies the development of children’s achievement-related beliefs and motivations. Visit her online: Beth, Kurtz-Costes, Ph.D.

Dr. Kurtz-Costes will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2017.


Ornstein, Peter
Chapin Distinguished Professor | Developmental Psychology Program Director
222 Davie Hall
(919) 962-4138
pao@unc.edu

Dr. Ornstein studies cognitive development, focusing especially on factors that influence the development of children’s memory. Visit him online: Peter Ornstein, Ph.D.

Dr. Ornstein will not be recruiting a student to start Fall 2017.


Telzer, Eva
Assistant Professor
218 Davie Hall
(919) 962-6758
ehtelzer@unc.edu

Dr. Telzer’s research examines how social and cultural processes shape adolescent brain development, with a focus on both prosocial and antisocial behaviors, family and peer relationships, and long-term psychological well-being. Visit her online: Developmental Social Neuroscience Lab.

Dr. Telzer will be recruiting a student to start Fall 2017.


Adjunct Faculty


Adjunct Faculty have official appointments with the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience and assist the Department by collaborating with faculty, mentoring doctoral students, or teaching undergraduates.


Asher, Steven
Affiliated Faculty | Duke University
240 Soc-Psych B
(919) 660-5773
asher@duke.edu


Baker-Ward, Lynne
Affiliated Faculty | North Carolina State University
640 Poe Hall
(919) 515-1731
lbward@ncsu.edu


Coffman, Jennifer
Affiliated Faculty | Center for Developmental Science
100 East Franklin Street
(919) 843-2401
coffman@unc.edu


Garrett-Peters, Patricia
Affiliated Faculty | Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
127 Sheryl-Mar North
(919) 843-9811
patricia.garrett-peters@unc.edu


Goldman, Barbara
Affiliated Faculty | Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
330 Bypass Building
(919) 966-7169
barbara_goldman@unc.edu


Piven, Joseph
Affiliated Faculty | Department of Psychiatry
4123 Bioinformatics Building
(919) 843-8641
jpiven@med.unc.edu


Propper, Cathi
Affiliated Faculty | Center for Developmental Science
100 East Franklin Street
(919) 843-2400
propper@email.unc.edu


Pungello, Elizabeth
Affiliated Faculty | Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
FPG Child Development Institute
(919) 966-7532
liz_pungello@unc.edu


Vernon-Feagans, Lynne
Affiliated Faculty | School of Education
301K Peabody Hall
(919) 843-5623
lynnevf@email.unc.edu


Willoughby, Michael
Affiliated Faculty | RTI International
(919) 541-6622
willoughby@unc.edu


Affiliated Faculty


Affiliated Faculty have primary appointments outside of the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience. They may be faculty members at other departments, schools, and research units on campus or with other universities in the area.


Mills-Koonce, Roger
Affiliated Faculty | University of North Carolina Greensboro
145 Stone Building
(336) 334-5307
r_millsk@uncg.edu